Newbie Question about wine kit degassing and books

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

srkaeppler

Reaction score
Hey All-

I am new to the forums! I just started brewing beer over the summer and have really been enjoying the experience. I am thinking about moving into winemaking as well.

I would like to start with a wine kit, probably one of the Winexpert kits. My main goal for doing a kit is to learn the procedure first and then move onward and upward from there(similar to what I did for the first beer I brewed). Winemaking seems like a very straight forward process(I know there is alot of art involved in it) After watching a few online videos, it seems like everyone degases the wine in order for it to be done more quickly. I also understand you can either degas, bulk age or vacuum out the co2 in your wine. It seems like most wines you usually do not try to degas like from a kit, so for the sake of practice, it seems to me like I would rather bulk age it and use that as the method to rid the wine of co2. Also I am not 'in a hurry' to get the wine done. I'd rather wait and have quality(not to say I wouldn't love to have quality in a shorter period of time).

So that leads to the question: what is the general consensus on degasing wine kit wine? Is it a good idea? Do I gain anything by doing it? Do I lose anything by doing it? If I did do it, how long would I need to keep it in the aging carboy(roughly)? How can I tell it is done(I asked Wayne about this and got some good answers)? Are there any good online resources that expand on this topic?