next step after brewing with extract

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mysterio

Reaction score
I've been brewing with extracts for a couple of months now, and just started using a secondary fermenter.

What should I be trying next? I'm still pretty much a beginner but I want to try something more fancy. Should I be steeping grains or something? Will I need extra equipment?

Any tips? I was put off by the 'howtobrew' site, made it sound pretty complex.

You can start steeping grains. Only extra equipment you will need is a bag to hold them grains. It's not that complicated. Think of it like you are making a HUGE cup of tea and it's just about identicle

Yup, time to start looking at specialty grains. Go give the howtobrew site another look. There should be a section about extract+grains, or mention of specialty grains. Easy stuff and allows you to make a whole range of beers.

I would say the easiest next step would be a extract/grain combo kit.
I just brewed my second batch, and I used one of these to move on to the second step. That way I didn't have to worry about finding the right stuff myself. It came with the grain bag.
One extra step (Steeping the grains), but otherwise just as easy as all extract.
Go for it, it was easy!

Your next step after specialty grains can be mini-mashing. If you're doing 5 gallon batches and have a bottling bucket then all you'll need is the nylon grain bag that fits in the bucket. This works very well before moving into larger insulated mashing vessels.

Wild