Brewing Competition Rules

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nitbops

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am organizing a brewing competition at work. But I have never done this before and I have no idea how to start.

The competition is for about 10 teams; they have to brew and make a commercial for the beer.

I have to supply all the teams with the beginners kits as well.

Can you please help me... with some basics...
- what should be the rules
- places where I can buy the kits
- anything else that might be of help...

Thx in advance..... Appreciate all your help!!!!!
-B

Is this a work assignment, or a free-time thing with friends?

If its a work assignment, do you have a budget for purchasing equipment and supplies? Timeline?

Does anyone have any brewing experience at all?

There are several online retailers that have pre-assembled equipment and ingredient kits; two of them are http://morebeer.com/ and http://www.austinhomebrew.com

Give us some more details so we can give you better advice.

This is a work assignment. we have a budget, but m looking at kits worth 70$.

Nobody has any prior experience brewing.

I would start by looking at www.howtobrew.com; it has a wealth of information on the basic process. Since no one has any experience you are most likely going to follow the extract brewing technique. That site will tell you everything you need to know about brewing such as what the minimum equipment requirements are ect... I would also suggest that you purchase ingredient kits from one of the online retailers rather than having people try to develop their own recipes.

Thanks all for your help...

At this point I am more concerned about how to organize the competition.. than brewing itself....