So I'm about to start brewers puberty.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flyfisherwes

Reaction score
Thats right. I'm having emotional swings and growing hair in funny places. Well maybe not all that but I'm moving on from brewing kits. I've brewed 5 LME kits from Midwest and Austin and I'm ready to move on to bigger and better things. I don't have room for all grain yet as I'm a student on rotations in various places, but I'm going to start with dme extract recipes I suppose and buy in bulk. I might research mini mash some as I'm not sure what it entails. I'm a big fan of IPAs and I bottled one today from a kit that I altered by dry hopping with an ounce of Amarillo. It smelled and tasted (leftovers in the bottling bucket) wonderful. I'm really looking for tips on how to make my transition smoother and most importantly, cheaper. I'm down for whatever to keep my time/space/money requirements down. I want to buy in bulk but I really don't know what to buy. I'd also like to get another bucket fermenter to add to my bucket and 2 carboys. Surely I can find a bucket that will work for less than 25 bucks. I actually like the bucket better than the carboys so I'd like to have like 4. Soon I'll need a walk in fridge for all my beer. And, before you suggest kegging, I kind of like bottles so I can share my beer with friends.

PS I just found a pizza joint that lets me have their numerous bottles from the recycling bin. I got 20 pint bottles today not to mention 10 24oz and a ridiculous number of fancy and regular 12 oz bottles. The place sells some of the beers for 14 bucks a pop... and business is good. :rockin: