Leaking from keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

basisforaday

Reaction score
Ok, so this is my first time trying to keg. I bought a couple used kegs and all the other hardware needed. I replaced all the o-rings and lubed them up with some keg lube. The post is on very tight. The disconnects fit on the post fine but they seem really loose. Are they supposed to be loose? I can definitely tell that that is where the leak is. I can also see that the o ring on the post does not stick out like I would think it would to make a good seal for the disconnect. It looks like it just barely reaches the outer part of the post. What do you guys think?

Disconnects should not be loose. Check to make sure they are the correct disconnects and that they are on the correct post. The O rings on mine are almost flush with the posts.

How would I know if they are the correct disconnects? They are ball lock and made for pepsi kegs. I have the grey one in the picture on the IN post and the black one on the OUT post. Should be right.

These are the ones I got:
http://stores.kegconnection.com/Detail.bok?no=36

Sounds right. The gray is gas and the black is liquid.

Is it only one of the disconnects that's loose? The posts may have been switched when the keg was rebuilt.

Nope, both are loose. I looked for the notched post as that should be gas, right? They look like they are on right.

Yeah if I put them on the post they are supposed to go on then they are loose. I put them on the opposite posts on the other keg and they are tight and hard to get off. I did the same to the first keg and the gas disconnect was tight and hard to get off but I couldn't get the liquid to go on right. Are they supposed to be hard to disconnect?