Bottling sentiment issue?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HoshBrew

Reaction score
Just bottled my first batch and added a 3/4 teaspoon of sugar to each bottle. They have been sitting for 3 days now and it looks like there as a layer of something forming at the bottom, almost like the yeast cake in the fermenter. Is this normal at this point?

yes... that is the yeast setteling out... that is why you leave 1/4" in the bottom of the bottle when you pour it

I'm very new at all this, is there a different process where you don't get this in the bottles? How do the big companies avoid this in there bottles?

I'm very new at all this, is there a different process where you don't get this in the bottles? How do the big companies avoid this in there bottles?

http://probrewer.com/resources/filtration/applications.php

Of course if you did that, there would be nothing left to carbonate the beer in your bottles. Yeast are you friends. Instead of trying to get rid of them, just leave them in the bottle and thank them for all the hard work to make your beer.

Awesome, thanks for the info. Im glad to hear I'm still in good shape. I thought I had an issue.

the other way to get rid of this without filtration would be to carb/ age in another vessel (like a keg, or brite tank if your a pro) and transfer to bottles (counter pressure filler) however the beer will store longer and taste better (opinion) when bottle conditioned (what you are doing).

I'll stick with why I'm doing. It doesn't bother me to leave a little in the bottom after I pour into my mug. I was just worried something was wrong, I can't wait to give it a try!