Temp of water going into plate chiller?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kmcogar

Reaction score
What temperature should the water be that is going into your plate chiller?

Also, how long does it take you to chill your wort with your 30 plate chiller?

Set up? Pics?

I have no experience with your model, but a good counter flow or plate chiller should be able to get your wort within a few degrees of ground water temp. Never any colder though unless you cool the incoming "coolant"water in some other method. So use that as your guide. If your ground water isn't cold enough, you can cool it further in a swamp style cooler ice bath, or fermentation chamber before pitching yeast.

I just did a test run with boiling water last night through my 10-plate Shirron chiller. Ground water was probably between 65F and 70F (I should have written it down, but I know it was not too cool). Draining the kettle at 0.5 gallons per minute and running water through the chiller at 6 gallons per minute (full bore from my washing machine supply) got 11 gallons down to 70F in 21 minutes. I was fiddling with output rates on the kettle and the hose, so I could probably bring the kettle rate down to about 15 minutes, just using a bit of gravity.

So, yeah, a plate chiller can get you really close to the incoming coolant water if you get it set up right as far as flow rates go. That's what I'm trying to determine now, as I want to get a pump to recirculate my coolant water instead of wasting 100+ gallons.

I have three good factors going for me. I have a forty plate, pump and well water which is 55-60 degrees. Cools my five gallons of boiling wort to 74 degrees in about four minutes.