kegging question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dgoebel

Reaction score
I'm very new to home brewing, and I also keg my beer in corney kegs. My question is once its done fermenting (bubbling), and I've siphoned it into the kegs, how long do I need to wait to drink it? I know I'm not suppose to use the priming sugar that was included in the kit, but the kit assumes I'm going to bottle the beer. The kit says to wait 3-4 weeks to drink it if bottling and keep the filled bottles at room temp while i wait.

I also know I'm suppose to "burb" the beer, but do I need to refrigerate it after I have burbed it?

thanks!!

I leave my beer in the fermenter about 2-3 weeks, then keg. If it's a "regular" beer and it tastes good, I put it in the kegerator and drink it. It does get better with a little time, but it's good as soon as it's carbed up. For "bigger" beers, I will keg them and keep them at room temperature a couple of weeks, or even longer if the beer needs the time. "Green" beer tastes kind of cidery, and isn't clear and the flavors haven't melded yet. With practice, you can sort of guestimate the time it needs at room temperature. Beer ages faster at warmer temperatures, and cold conditioning will slow down the aging process tremendously. So, put only beer that's ready to drink into the kegerator.

I don't know what you mean about burping the keg. I wouldn't do that. If you have some co2 in there, that's great. That's what carbonates the beer, and protects it from oxidation. In fact, I keg my beer and then give it a big shot of co2 to seal the lid and purge the oxygen out of. I give it a shot of co2, then pull the pressure relief. I do this about three times, then leave it with the co2 in it.