Longer boil to adjust FG?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jiggs_casey

Reaction score
I'm new to Beersmith and trying to get things as close as possible to what 'it' says where I should be.

I pulled a sample from my boil at the 60 minute mark to see how close it was to what Beersmith says it should be. It's off. So is my post boil volume by over a gallon. I don't have anything handy to add to the boil to try and get it to where it should be so, can I just do a longer boil to increase my FG?

Should have been 1.053
Is 1.032

A longer boil will increase your gravity, but you will lose volume obviously. Another option would be to add a calculated amount of extract to the boil to make up for the gravity difference. Yet another option would be to blend the lower gravity batch with a higher gravity batch.

Cool, that's kinda what I was looking for. I'm not too concerned with the loss of volume at this point as I usually account for a half gallon every 30 minutes or so. Which means for me, a 60 minute boil means I need a pre boil volume of somewhere between 6 and 6.5 gallons for a final, post boil volume of 5 gallons. I think what is tripping me up is according to Beersmith, and I'm playing by it's rules, my pre boil was well over 7 gallons. On a 60 minute boil, that says I'm going to have a lot of wort left over that is going to go to waste. I don't lose much at all between transfering between boil kettle to primary, primary to bottling bucket and then into bottles. So, to me the 7 gallons is really high.