Apps for brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RUNningonbrew

Reaction score
Any good apps out there for brewing? I have brew pal but it doesn't seem to calculate things correctly

RUNningonbrew said:
Any good apps out there for brewing? I have brew pal but it doesn't seem to calculate things correctly

Ibrewmaster is the "other one" that people use... I have no experience with it but you may want to search the software section here and read up.
I used brewpal a lot until I got beersmith for my pc. I thought it was fairly accurate. There are settings on almost every page... Be sure to tweak the settings based on your set- up if you decide to stick with it.
I use "2008 BJCP styles" app for reference ( its a little cheesy ) and I have a shortcut to...
http://www.brewersfriend.com/bottling-calculator/

... On my iPod desktop that I use RELIGIOUSLY.... Always wondered why brewing programs always seem to forget that kind of stuff

I have been using the BJCP styles app religiously for several months, since I am taking the exam in a few days.

I haven't used BrewPal in a while, as I tend to develop all my recipes in Beersmith nowadays, but I never had issues with calculations being wrong when I was using it. As mentioned before, make sure all the settings are appropriate to your equipment and brewing setup.

One thing that I really like in BrewPal, and still use frequently, is the little SRM color cards reference.

Brewmate is not a bad little program. It supports beerxml and does a nice text export as well.
Brewtarget is also not too bad. It will run on mac, windows or linux.