Mango Pale Ale thoughts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HopHound12

Reaction score
Over the past few very hot summer days I have been pondering making a Mango Pale Ale and am in the process of working up a recipe. Let me say first that I am a beginner brewer and this will be my fourth batch, the first three of those being extract kits. Because of this I really don’t have any experience coming up with a good recipe which is why I am hoping that you guys could give me some advice. I am looking to brew a light ale that is not too bitter and will finish with the subtle taste of mango. I’ve done some research online and found one recipe which is as follows:

1.5 kg (3.3 lbs) light liquid malt extract
3 lbs light DME
1.0 lbs pislner malt
.75 oz chinook leaf hops (60 min)
.75 oz cascade leaf hops (60 min)
.75 oz cascade leaf hops (2 min)
Nottingham ale yeast (starter)

I was wondering if this recipe looks alright and if there is anything that you think ought to be changed to better it. I plan on racking the beer into secondary onto about five pounds of fresh mango cubes or possibly frozen mango which I would puree in the food processor. Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Over the past few very hot summer days I have been pondering making a Mango Pale Ale and am in the process of working up a recipe. Let me say first that I am a beginner brewer and this will be my fourth batch, the first three of those being extract kits. Because of this I really don’t have any experience coming up with a good recipe which is why I am hoping that you guys could give me some advice. I am looking to brew a light ale that is not too bitter and will finish with the subtle taste of mango. I’ve done some research online and found one recipe which is as follows: