All Centennial IPA is good, Imperial IPA great?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobsstory182

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been wanting to brew an Imperial IPA so I've been looking for a good receipe. I recently had an all centennial IPA and I really liked it. If an all centennial IPA is good, wouldn't an all centennial Imperial IPA be great? I'm fairly new to brewing, brewing since last summer so I'm not sure about it. I've been looking at recipes and they usually call for a few different hops. Does this sound like a good idea or should I stick to one of the recipes. This is what I was thinking for an extract:

8 lbs LME
4 lbs extra light dme
2 lbs cane sugar or dextrose?
1 lbs wheat dme
1/2 lbs 2 row
1 lbs gambrinus honey
1/2 lbs briess victory

2 oz centennial 60min
1 1/2 oz centennial 45 min
1 1/2 oz centennial 30 min
1 1/2 oz centennial 15 min
1 1/2 oz centennial 10 min
1 1/2 oz centennial 2 min
1 1/2 oz centennial 0 min
1 oz centennial dry hopped

I found a recipe and tweaked it a little bit, any pointers would be awesome

ok a few questions,

Wheat DME?

I see a few grains in there you just going to steep those ?

I would run away screaming form that much Cane sugar- cidery off flavors galore

here is an Recipe I put together using beersmith from your list.

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - BeerSmith Brewing Software, Recipes, Blog, Wiki and Discussion Forum
Recipe: Centennial IIPA
Brewer:
Asst Brewer:
Style: Imperial IPA
TYPE: Extract
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 5.72 gal
Estimated OG: 1.093 SG
Estimated Color: 10.8 SRM
Estimated IBU: 78.9 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: - %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU