Raising GrainBed temperature during batch sparge

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aredling

Reaction score
I am still fairly new to brewing, I think I have done about 6 AG batches now.

Now that I have my procedure more or less down pat I am looking around to areas I can improve.

The first is during my batch sparge. I am having trouble raising the grain bed temperature up to the recommended 168 for the mashout.

I am currently mashing in a large rubbermaid extreme cooler. I have tried adding basically boiling water during my first sparge rinse to try to raise the grain bed to 168 and just can't seem to get it there. The most recent brew I got the bed temperature up to about 160. Which after 150 F mash that didn't seem like too much.

Is it unreasonable to expect being able to do this with my setup? Would I really have to have a mash tun I could apply heat directly too, rather than just adding hot water?

This forum has been a wealth of information for my brewing.

Thanks!

Do you double batch sparge? After I've drained my first runnings, I add about 195F degree water (usually twice, ~2 gallons of water each time) and am able to get my grain bed up to 168F.

Do you double batch sparge? After I've drained my first runnings, I add about 195F degree water (usually twice, ~2 gallons of water each time) and am able to get my grain bed up to 168F.

I usually do a double batch. Typically it's ~ 2 gallons per sparge. I usually only add 170 water for the second one, I guess I should bump that up higher. I thought that you were supposed to raise the temperature of the grain bed prior to that second running.