Blueberry Braggot?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello,
I have 10 lbs of blueberries and I want to ferment them into some delicious. I found a mead recipe that I like but I want to make some substitutions for pale malt extract to round out the mead. I have limited experience with mead so I was wondering if you guys could give me some suggestions. I was thinking I would cut out the sugar for malt and perhaps some of the honey. Is there a known malt to honey ratio that gives it a nice balance of the two??? I think I would like it to be pretty malty.

here is the recipe I was starting with, but I am open to others if anyone has one.

6.5 gallons
Ingredients
10 lbs honey
7 - 10 lbs fresh blueberries
1 - 2 lbs corn sugar
1 - 2 oz hops (Cascades is fine)
lemon grass tea (optional)
yeastMethods/steps
Boil the honey, sugar, and hops for at least an hour (although boiling honey is not favored by most digest subscribers, it works fine and is the method used by Papazian).
Clean berries and mash well.

Put mashed berries, hot must, and enough water to make 6.5 gallons in a fermenter, before pitching yeast.

Thanks!

After one week, strain out berries and rack to secondary.

Ferment at least one more month then bottle, priming with corn sugar and perhaps some lemon grass tea.

Age 6 months to a year.