Advice on a book purchase

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JayJitsu

Reaction score
I am looking for advice from the experienced....

I am about to use up an Amazon.com gift cert on a few brewing books and I need to know which is the better companion to How to Brew:

Brewing Classic Styles

or

Designing Great Beers.

I am new to brewing, and I am brewing strictly extract for at least the next year. My goal is to, sooner rather than later, begin creating my own recipes as opposed to using kits or "borrowing" recipes from the net.

Any info is greatly appreciated.

Both books are awesome, but they are totally different.

Designing Great Beers is a very long book, talking about the science and techniques of brewing as well as the style guidelines.

Brewing Classic Styles goes style by style through each type, and gives you a recipe or two that are exactly to style. There is a very short description of each style, and what makes the style distinct.

If I was starting out, and still doing extract beers, I'd get Classic Styles.

If you are really trying to devise your own recipes in the long run, Designing Great Beers is an excellent book. However it really doesn't have any recipes for you to cut your teeth on. I think you might be better off with Brewing Classic Styles in order to get a few batches under your belt with tried and true recipes. There are extract versions of every recipe. As you get through a few BCS recipes you'll likely begin to see the trends in recipe formulation and get a feel for creating your own recipes eventually.

I'm with the majority. Get Classic Styles first. DGB is awesome, but more technical and won't be as much of a use to you at this point.