Starter all grain recipes?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nmcjudo

Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to the forum and new to brewing. By the beginning of the year (around tax time) I plan on having all of the equipment for all grain brewing. I'll be buying the starter kit from Austins Homebrewing with a second fermentor. This is a new hobbie for my wife and I. I personally have never breewed anything before, but she has done some extract brewing in the past. Could someone suggest some easy starter recipes for us to try? She tends to enjoy Stouts and fruit beers and I enjoy anything with a serious amount of hops.

Whenever I being something new, I always do a lot of research. I've been researching the all grain process for about 2 months. Watching videos, reading articles, and visiting this forum. I really have no interest in extract brewing. The reason I want to start off with all grain is because I will have complete control over a brew; and hopefully one day I can just make my own recipes. I can't wait to begin this journey, I'm sure it will be a blast.

Yes, again, recipe suggestions, or any suggestions for that matter would be appreciated. Thank you!

Cheers!

You can browse the recipe section for some good stuff. Just check out what section interests you. A stout might be a good first beer as it's a session beer so it will ferment fairly quickly and you can enjoy it fairly early.

i did my first all grain recipe a few months ago, a fat tire clone. it turned out surprisingly well, will only a small brewhouse efficiency/original gravity problem. since then, i have been getting worse on efficiency, so i am switching to a five gallon round cooler. i would recommend that over a larger rectangular cooler.