Recipe opinions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dirtwater

Reaction score
Hey guys! Newbie here. Just wanted to get some thoughts on an IPA I put together that I will brew a bit later today. This is my first recipe and I am looking for quite a bit of maltiness and not so much in your face hops but still in the IPA style. Here it is...

10 gallon batch

20 Lbs Marris Otter
2 lbs Belgian aromatic
1 lb carapils

Mash 154 for 1 hr

1 oz Columbus 60 min.
1 oz Simcoe 15 min.
1 oz Amarillo 10 min
1 oz Simcoe 5 min
1 oz Amarillo flame out

Dry hop 1 oz ea Amarillo/Simcoe

Is that enough hops?

I plan to experiment on the yeast. I will split the batch into 2, 5 gallon fermentors and use Safale 04 in one and 05 in the other. Anyone see any potential problems. I've been told its too much aromatic but I want big malt on this one. :tank:

I'm not sure about using the aromatic in an IPA - it could be fine, but I've never tried it, and it's not in any of the IPA recipes I have. If you want malt, you could try something like a few pounds of Vienna or Munich instead? Or you could just go for it and see how it comes out.