Lemon Wheat Tea Beer Recipe needed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PundyBrews

Reaction score
Hey everybody

Up here in Ontario, one of our great local breweries, Mill Street, has released a lemon tea beer. Unlike some of the other big boy lemon beers, this one is just right, not to much but enough and damn refreshing in this super hot weather.

It gives the ingredients on the can but, being a newb, I need a little help formulating a recipe. For now it would have to be extract, I am in the process of going all grain just not yet.

The can says that it is a wheat beer with orange pekoe and earl grey teas with a lemon twist. 5% ABV

Ingredients listed in order are: malted wheat, barley, lemon puree, organic cane sugar, orange pekoe and earl grey tea, hops.

I figure you start with a simple wheat recipe with a some C hops, steep enough tea to make 5 gallons and add puree to 2nd.

Any ideas?

You'll want to start with a simple Hefe Recipe. I threw this together just now:

Type: Extract
Date: 8/30/2010
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Brewer:
Boil Size: 5.72 gal Asst Brewer:
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: My Equipment
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: -
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

Amount Item Type % or IBU
8.00 lb Wheat Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM) Extract 100.0 %
0.75 oz Hallertauer [4.80%] (60 min) Hops 16.1 IBU
0.75 oz Simcoe / Amarillo / Casacade (10 min) <--- Pick a hop to contribute to the citrus aroma/flavor

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.057 SG
Measured Original Gravity: 1.010 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.015 SG Measured Final Gravity: 1.005 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.5 % Actual Alcohol by Vol: 0.6 %
Bitterness: ? IBU Calories: 43 cal/pint
Est Color: 8.6 SRM