Heat gun/deep fryer sous vide.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

REM830

Reaction score
Can someone tell me if I am oversimplifying this? I am not an electrical engineer, but I play one in my imagination. These are the assumptions I am making. A heat gun is a heating element with a blower attached correct? A fryer element is the same thing except the heating wire (element) is wrapped in a ceramic and metal coating? An 1800w heatgun should be able to power a 1500w element? I assume this could be done with many types of heating elements/setups and modified to make it more portable( ie., a heatgun heat stick with a trigger handle)? Once in a more insulating container, it should be able to maintain steady temps for long periods with very lil use of the element once the set temp is achieved.

It worked great straight wired and brought the water to a boil in 5 minutes or so. I then added the water heater element. I tested it out at the max temp on the thermostat (150F), the element turned off automatically maintaining a max temp of 155 and coming on when the thermostat registered a drop in temp. I tested this by adding Ice cold water in several intervals. It came back on each time, and never got above 155. I can adjust the temp to as low as 90F. The water heater thermostat is held against the bottom of the reservoir using a piece of foam insulation, which will eventually surround the whole water reservoir.