Does anyone else find Beersmith clunky?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Helloworld

Reaction score
I'll start by saying I am an engineer and am able to use a computer. It isn't that I can't figure out Beersmith, it just seems kind of clunky or not very streamlined. Maybe I need to watch a couple videos.

Edit: I want to mention that I think Beersmith is a very well crafted piece of software and I really appreciate everything Brad Smith does for homebrewing. His podcasts are excellent and if you haven't listened to them there are some really interesting episodes. I felt like I didn't "get" Beersmith so I made this post. I just want to clarify that this was not intended to be a Beersmith bashing party.

I really liked version 1 but I upgraded to version 2 and I feel like I cant find anything or my eyes are roaming all over the place. For some reason I can only add 13 metrics like "Estimated pre-boil efficiency"... Why 13?

David

I really liked version 1 but I upgraded to version 2 and I feel like I cant find anything or my eyes are roaming all over the place.

David

Exactly. I have been using it for a little while now and still feel like my eyes are darting around all the time.

yes, very clunky and non-intuitive. I work in IT and I've been using beersmith for a couple of years and still have issues with it. Lately, I've been using brewer's friend more and I'm about to go all in and buy their subscription and mobile app. It has it's own issues but I'll deal with those over the BS issues.

I switched from BeerSmith to http://www.brewersfriend.com/ after I could not reactivate my software on getting a new laptop and got no help from BeerSmith.