Priming with maple syrup: slow carbonation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nigel31

Reaction score
Hey,

I bottled a batch of maple wee heavy--primed with 5 oz. of Grade B maple syrup--about three weeks ago and cracked open a bottle last night. The stuff tasted as great as I'd hoped, but there was no head. Some small amount of bubbles in the brew itself, but even though I poured it down the middle, I couldn't coax any head out of it.

This brew's one to age and age, so I'm in no rush, but was wondering if anyone else has experienced slow carbonation with maple syrup as a priming sugar.

Cheers,
Nige

Every wee heavy I've ever had poured that way. Very little to no head and very low carbination. Are you following a recipe or is this your own?

I have no experience using maple syrup as priming sugar, but if the beer is higher gravity, it may take a bit longer to carb up than usual.

Thanks. The recipe was a Northern Brewer kit that I modified with a bunch (2/3 gallon) of maple syrup. That said, the style for English/Scottish ales is low carbonation (less than 2 volumes of CO2), but I've always gotten at least some foam when pouring commercial wee heavies. I'll be patient with it.

Just to note: I added some hydrated dry yeast at bottling since the brew'd been sitting around a while (brewed late January) and wanted to ensure carbonation and conditioning.

that may not of been enough maple syrup. corn sugar has 92% solids with an extract yield of 42 and is 100% fermentable. maple syrup on the other hand is 67% solids with an extract yield of 31 an is 100% fermentable.

assuming you calculated you needed 5oz. corn sugar you would need 6.8oz. maple syrup.

x = (5oz. * 42 * 100%)/(31 * 100%) = 6.8oz.