Calculating What to Shoot For (FG)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jalgayer

Reaction score
Hey All,

I am new to this all. Started Feb 15th of this year. Just finished my 5th batch. Just dipping my toe into the brewing scene ;) You have helped me a ton in the past... I have been taking lots of notes from you all as well as on all the steps of my beers.

That leads me to my new question.

Most kits do not give you the FG that you are shooting for. So I went and found this formula: [(OG-FG)/(OG-1)] x 100 = Attenuationto help me.

For my most recent beer... A Belgian Trippel I had an OG of 1.078.
I also found here http://www.homebrewers.com/results.cgis?catalog=&keywords=1338&x=0&y=0 that the attenuation of the yeast is 67%-71%. So I took the middle (69) and plugged it as well as the OG of 1.078 into the formula:

[(1.078-FG)/(.078)] x 100 = 69 and solved to get that FG = 1.024.

Now I would imagine that my FG can vary... so if I end up at 1.026 or 1.022 I would be fine... and that I need to use my hydrometer. But does this seem to be the way I need to go?

Or is there a different/better way to calculate what FG I am shooting for?

Thanks a ton,

Jason

I think that the way that you've done it is fine. It's an accurate measure for apparent attenuation.

It might vary somewhat, but under normal conditions it shouldn't. If it is beyond that range, something isn't normal - stuck fermentation or something causing overattenuation.

Those attenuation numbers given by the yeast mfrs. are just numbers so you can compare yeasts. You might get way more or way less attenuation than that. Your mash schedule will have more influence on your FG than those numbers given by the mfrs.