Pitching yeast temp question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SonicGT

Reaction score
OK so I've searched around and saw others with similar questions but figured I'd ask. I'm new to brewing, doing extract with dry yeast. I'm on my 3rd brew last night and didn't have enough ice and time to cool it down to what I wanted. So it was at 78deg, I decided to pitch the yeast and hope for the best, when I got home from work tonight its down to the 68 degrees I was hoping for, but no bubbles in the airlock (been 17hrs) I'm using nottingham dry yeast, and my last batch used the same and was bubbling a decent amount by now, both batches are IPA's.
Am I just being over concerned, or if it doesn't start should I pitch another packet of yeast, and if so do I oxygenate again, or is that something I don't want to do just in case it has started to ferment.

78 degrees isn't high enough to kill the yeast, so don't worry.

There may be a couple of reasons why you don't see bubbling. One, maybe the seal isn't airtight and co2 is escaping elsewhere. Or, maybe the 78 degrees got the Nottingham going, and it's already finished up. (I've had beers ferment out literally in less than 24 hours before).

In any case, it's fine. Just wait about a week or so and check the final gravity to make sure it's done.

I used Nottingham for my first brew and it didn't start bubbling until day 2.

As mentioned in several places on the forum; LACK OF BUBBLING DOES NOT MEAN IT IS NOT FERMENTING! RDWEAHB!

Agreed - I got no bubbles with my first batch and it was nearly at its final gravity in 3 days.

I just did a Russian Imperial with an OG of 1.1. It was eerily silent for two days and had me worried. I took a gravity today and it's down to 1.02.

Fermentation can be sneaky:D