Loss to Mash Tun

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yane

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new in brewing so I'm little confused about amount of water loss to mash tun.
All recipes give amount of water for mash in and amount for sparging water, but some amount of water will be sucked by the malt. So my question is do the amount of water given in the recipe is equal to the amount of the wort which will be collected at the end (Loss to Mash Tun will be substituted) or amount of the water is fixed and Loss to Mash Tun is part of the amount of water in the recipe (and it should be sucked by the wort).

http://www.castlemalting.com/Default.asp?N=Presentations&ID=25&Language=English

Here is the link to Castle Malting (maltinghous) at the end of their brochure a recipes are given for 100 litre of water (70 L for mash in and 30 L for sparging). How much wort will be collected according to this recipe?

Recipes are typically given to include the loss to grain absorption. Generally (depending on many environmental factors) loss to grain absorption is 0.12 gallons per pound of grain or about 1 liter per kilogram of grain (if my math is correct)

No. Every system is different, and therefore you need to calculate and subtract the losses. Amount of grain also effects this, as well as things like leaf vs dry hops. You should find some way of calculating it and over time, you'll eventually dial it in.

Agreed with Brooklyn, recipes usually do account for grain absorption, but not for mash tun losses, I.e. Wort left behind because it can't exit the drain, because it's lower than the outlet, etc.

So...

The size of the batch determines the amount of wort you need to boil. I do 5 US gallon batches. Here are a few of the factors that determine you water required.