Lager fermentation problem??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Karl Hungus

Reaction score
Hey there, this is my first post, so take it easy on me... I'll take any advice...

I've been brewing beer for 5 or 6 years and recently (12/30/06) made just my second Lager, using white labs octoberfest (WLP820). I got a thingamajig for christmas to control the temperature in my beer fridge so I figured I might as well start with a lager. Anyway,

I should have made a starter (just read that White Labs recommends it with this yeast). I usually do, but I was pressed for time with the holidays. I pitched the yeast when the wort had cooled to around 75 degrees, then put it immediately into my fridge set at 55.

It has been 5 days now and the fermentation looks really weak. After 24 hours it looked like it had a little white foamy layer, nothing like what I am used to with an ale yeast, now the surface looks pretty much clear. Without experience in Lagers, I can't really tell what is going on.

Should I

a) bring the beer back up to room temperature, make a starter, re-pitch at 70-75, wait for fermentation, bring it down to the fridge after the initial activity subsides or

b) make a starter and pitch at the current 55 degree temperature

c) something else?

Be assured that I am relaxed and will be drinking a homebrew as I consider the options ...

I am not experienced enough to answer your questions with much confidence, but it is evident from your post that you are no nihilist about beer. And that must be exhausting. I'm afraid that if I answer your questions wrong you might come back and cut off my johnson, in the parlance of our times. :D

After all, sometimes you drink the lager, and sometimes the lager drinks you.

(Next time make a Big Starterowski.)