Moving Closer Towards All-Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ahoffman565

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I just thought I'd share an experience that I had tonight. To give you some background, I've been brewing for a few years now. I have a number of very tasty partial mash batches under my belt (and some more on the way). I have been using the stovetop partial mash technique (thanks DeathBrewer!) and have gotten some really great results. But just like any of my other hobbies, I wanted MORE. I've really always felt like doing all-grain batch was like the pinnacle of the homebrewing hobby but have been somewhat intimidated by the process.

I recently completed a 5-gallon cooler to MLT conversion and really wanted to give it a workout. It just so happens that SWMBO got me 2 homebrew kits as a gift for last Christmas - one was a partial mash, and the other an all grain. I made the partial mash kit shortly after Christmas and it turned out great! However, she was always asking me when I was going to do the "other" batch. I tried to explain to her the difference between the two techniques, but each time I could see the glazing of the eyes and the nodding of the head as if she was trying to understand. She always felt bad about getting the "wrong" kind, and I tried to assure her that it would pay off some day.