To molasses, or not to molasses?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whiteknuckle

Reaction score
First of all, a big thank you for everyone that posts their successes and failures on here. I've learned so much already. My husband and I started brewing in June with a Brewers Best gluten-free kit, and ever since I've been addicted to home-brewing and experimentation. With a few exceptions (104 IBU? Wish I'd learned how to calculate that sooner!), we've been pleased with our results. But a good stout still eludes us.

So, I've read mixed reviews about brewing with molasses. We tried one oatmeal stout with blackstrap (big mistake...after four months in the bottle, still virtually undrinkable), but does better quality molasses make a difference? Or would we be better off sticking with Belgian Candi D2?

By the way, brewing in December in Eastern Ontario...madness. If anyone's got tips for brewing in the snow, I'm all ears.

Why do you want dark syrup or molasses in a stout in the first place? The first time I brewed an Imperial stout I used molasses, not even too much but that flavor never went away. What commercial stouts do you like? That's where to start in your quest for brewing advice.

If you're looking for a way to get a good roasted flavor in your stouts syrups are the wrong way to approach it. I suggest getting a pound of whatever gluten free grain you can find and roasting it in your oven until it is a nice dark brown-black color. Crush it, steep it and add it to your kettle.