Need Advice--Have not seen this before

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rcstrick

Reaction score
I am relatively new to Homebrewing and recently brew a hybrid cream ale I design with a working at my LHBS to replicate Spotted Cow. All my temperatures have been stable along wtih fermentation temperatures (64-66 degrees). I used a smack pack for my yeast and noticed a slow consisitent fermentation over the course of roughly 7 days. I racked to secondary at the end of the 9h day. When I opened the primary I saw what looked like a layer of dough resting on top. I racked what was underneath and thought it was due to using a different type of yeast. I woke up the next morning and the fermentation overflowed my airlock in my carboy over night and this foam (which now is more dough like) returned. It has been in the carboy a few days and this dough is still on top but the trub at the bottom is becoming larger. Is this something I should be concerned about. I was planning on letting this sit 3 weeks in secondary then bottle conditioning. I hope someone may be able to share insight on to what this is. Let me know if you need to know more specifics about the recipe

I appreciate the advice in advance

The "dough" is called krausen and happens every time. If you don't get krausen, it may be cause to worry. I would advise against using a secondary, there is no reason to do so and it increases the possibility of infection, staling, and oxydation. With that said it sounds like you transferred to secondary too early, but don't worry, your beer will be fine. Just let it sit and keep it clean!

Um, let me guess you've never seen fermentation before? And by "slow conisistnat fermentation" you meant your airlicok was bubbling, right?