Two quick questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surftexasz71

Reaction score
Hi, im a beginner at the whole brewing thing (my first batch is in the primary) as i was making the batch two questions came to mind. first, i never read anywhere whether or not i needed to boil my tap water to sterilize it before adding it to my 2 gallon concentrated wort. do i need to do this? also, when it comes to tansfering the wort to the primary, is it ok to pour it through a collander and a fine strainer as apposed to siphoning it? my roomate poured the wort as i helt the very pourous collander and my other roomate held the fine strainer under the collander so the wort got filtered twice (rough then fine). we only did this because the siphon kept clogging. as long as the strainers were sterilized i should be ok right? this went very quick without the pains of siphoning.

pouring through a strainer will work fine and have the added benefit of aereating your wort wich is very important for active fermentation. Yes sterelizing them (and anything that is going to come in contact with your post boil wort for that matter) is very important. as far as your added top off water is concerned. some do, some don't. personally when I was doing extract brews or partial boils I would only use fresh spring water and never boiled it. I'm sure someone will chime in with something more deffinative.

cheers

Yer fine.

Others may offer alternatives to what you did, but there is no right answer.
Make sure you understand the benefits and liablilites of a method and decide how it best benefits your beer and brewing capability.