Topping off JAOM with a dry wine?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewbear

Reaction score
I made my first batch of mead, a gallon batch of JAOM and after two months racked it into a secondary (which the recipe says not to do, but i did anyway). After taking a few taste tests and racking there is barely 3/4 a gallon left.I am worried about the headspace and I know that JAOM tends to be very sweet, so I was wondering if topping it off with some dry white wine would help prevent oxidation while taking away some of the sweetness?
I'm very new to brewing in general and have never added anything to my beer or cider this late in the process so I appreciate any help.

I made my first batch of mead, a gallon batch of JAOM and after two months racked it into a secondary (which the recipe says not to do, but i did anyway). After taking a few taste tests and racking there is barely 3/4 a gallon left.I am worried about the headspace and I know that JAOM tends to be very sweet, so I was wondering if topping it off with some dry white wine would help prevent oxidation while taking away some of the sweetness?
I'm very new to brewing in general and have never added anything to my beer or cider this late in the process so I appreciate any help.
You can top it off with whatever you like, but it just won't be a benchmark JAO will it.

The temptation to meddle is very high, especially if you're used to brewing that needs a fair amount of attention.

Just make a second batch and follow the instructions religiously, then you can always blend the 2 later on if need be......

regards

fatbloke

p.s. Oh and meads don't, as a rule, suffer from oxidation like "normal" wines do..... but, if it's like 3/4's in a gallon jug, then it might be for the best.