Cider Experiment From Powders.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Peakr8

Reaction score
Hey guys.

Just knocked up my first test batch of cider.

I am a newbie at this and have been looking for some time at trying to make cider from apple juice powder.

I have sourced a very reasonably priced apple powder, and the supplier assures me that all it contains is powdered apple with 10% fine sugar.

The recommendation was to add 4 to 5 times water to powder weight. So I mixed 200g of powder with 800 ml of water and tasted it, boy was it strong. So I continued to add water till I had my desired flavour strength. It ended up as a ratio of 1 to 7... Happy me, because the more water I added, the costs of brewing dropped.

Anyway, I made 3 test litres in 2 x 1.5L plastic water bottles. Added the sugar (70g in each bottle and about 8th of a teaspoon of standard baker's yeast in each bottle.

I left the caps loose and pulled balloons over the tops.

After 18 hours the balloons are showing definite signs of slight inflation.

Seeing as this is my first experiment, can I assume that this is looking to be a success?

Cider here is very expensive (Thailand). I have paid a whopping $8 for a 440ml can. That equates to $18 a Litre. My total costs thus far is $0.70 a litre.

There is a seriously huge gap in the market here for a powder kit for people to make their own cider by just adding water and shaking. Then set and forget.

I don't even have a hydrometer yet, but one is on its way.

I would love to hear any tips or advice.... anyone already tried from powder?.. am I using the right amounts of sugar/yeast?

Thanks in advance.

As an American, I now want to try this powdered cider. It sounds like a great product!

I will keep you all up to date from start to finish.