What do you do with the morons??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lonek

Reaction score
Now I know most people will say to just ignore the people who claim to know what they're doing, but my brother-in-law is driving me nuts!!!!

(be warned, long rant) :drunk:

So last week, my brother-in-law tells me him and a friend brewed a few beers in the last 4 weeks. (This, after him finding out I started brewing again) He made a Honey Porter that he says he's already drinking, a Rasberry Wheat, again drinking already and a Hard Lemonade.

Honey Porter -

I've been thinking of making something like this myself, but wasn't sure if the honey flavor would come through so I ask him how much honey he used. Answer? 5 lbs. I said, "you used that much!!!!!!" What kind of yeast are you using? Nottingham was the reply... He tells me it's very sweet and it isn't carbed yet... I tried to explain that he probably killed the yeast and it will never carb. AND he has a high potential for bombs. I asked him if he used a hydrometer, he said no that's for wussies to just check what your alcohol content would be...

Rasberry Wheat -

He explained to me that they used a concentrate and it's a little strong to drink atm but he's hoping to age it a few months and it will taste better. No listening to me that wheat beers are better drunk young.

Hard Lemonade -