Hi! Newbie from Michigan

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Time-Travelers

Reaction score
Just started making wine a couple months ago, now hubby is asking about beer... hoping some of the equipment is the same ;)
I found a 5-gal stock pot on sale for $17.99 that I'm thinking is a good buy?
And it sounds like I should keep my primarys separate from beer and wine and that I'll need two, one with a spigot (?)... I'm thinking I'm going to want to start with a 'kit' and I noticed a couple of the local brew shops sell their own kits? I have no experience with this, any recommendations?
Looking forward to getting started and learning more!

Well the kits are good but if you already have some stuff you might not want to buy a kit. Beer uses the same stuff as wine so you are good there. I say go to your LHB shop with a list of what you have and they will be able to get you the other stuff you need for beer. Where in mi are you? I'm in Warren. I shop at Cap-n-cork.

LOL - I was just there last night! We live in Sterling Heights. I should clairfy a bit, when I said 'kit' I was referring to a recipe kit as opposed to equipment.

Recipe kits are a great way to start. Their own kits might be fresher than say a brewers best kit. I have been doing the brewers best kits and have had no problems with them at all. But I would shy away from any kit that is dust covered. The malt extract in those kits starts degrading with age, so the fresher the kit the better.

I thought of that after I had already posted. A couple of people I know have made some of Cap-N-corks kits and they have liked them. They are really helpful there.

Oh I see you outed yourself to the rest of the miscreants on here. ;)

And glad to see you finally made it. :mug: