Advice on my planned sculpture

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonalexdeval

Reaction score
I'm still learning about all-grain brewing and equipment (reading Palmer's book, and online). I've sketched out my sculpture and wanted some comments on the overall design.

I think it makes sense, but I see a lot of people doing tiered trees instead of the "stair step" design like mine. Is there a reason for this other than floor space? Height and space are not important (and my LP tanks will sit under the kegs on the stand if that seems safe), although price is fairly important and I'll be welding it myself and using 3 Sankeys. It will have locking casters on extended leg arms for extra base support that is larger than the actual stand.

Also, some people seem to set their MTs so that the bottom of the MT is slightly lower than the top of the kettle. I want to maximize gravity usage and simplicity, so I figured the base of each keg at the top of the next...

Primarily I'm concerned about safety... a wide support base and making sure nothing tips over side to side, etc. I wonder about all that weight up on the HLT on the back end. But I could put extension arms with casters out the back too. Thanks.

brewdiagram002.jpg

Oh, and the banjo will go on the HLT instead of the mash...

I think that your diagram looks sound.

I agree with the logic that your vessels should clear one another in order to take advantage of gravity, if that's the way that you want to do it.

The only reason that a single column, multi-tier design might be a plus is in cases of limited storage area- but if you're got the space, then a stairstep design might be less cluttered overall.