First AG, little messy.....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lonek

Reaction score
Well I built a 10 gallon Home Depot mash tun Friday night and Saturday morning 2 friends and I started brewing a Phat Tyre Amber Ale.

Mash temps were perfect, but when I started to drain the wort off I only got one gallon before it got stuck... Now as many of you know, it's a little hard to unclog or even deduce what's going on when the grain is this hot. So, I ran into the house grabbed a huge nylon steeping bag I had bought at the LHBS placed it into the boiling pot and we poured the wort and grains right in. Placed the grain bag back into the mash tun and started sparging.

By this time, I'm a little bummed and depressed thinking I'm going to lose this one or not get enough wort from it, but luckily I had added an extra 2 lbs of grain over what the recipe called for expecting my efficiency to be low. After a good boil and cooling it, my OG was right on target! 1.051

I'm happy to say it's fermenting like crazy right now at 72 nestled away in a dark closet.

I use the same cooler, but batch sparge with a stainless braid. I did a 10 gallon Hefe that had 14# of Wheat and 8# of Pils and didn't even bother with rice hulls. No problem. What kind of manifold do you have?

On the inside I used a "T" brass piece put a barbed nipple on each end. I had a 12" SS braid with a piece of rubber tubing inside that I cut huge notches into. The rubber tubing is on the barbs and the SS braid fits over top of it.

Lonek said:
On the inside I used a "T" brass piece put a barbed nipple on each end. I had a 12" SS braid with a piece of rubber tubing inside that I cut huge notches into. The rubber tubing is on the barbs and the SS braid fits over top of it.