Dry Hopped Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simpkill

Reaction score
This is my first post here, but I've been lurking around getting free advice from you all for a while. Here's a recipe for some cider that I just put into my secondary last night.

5gal of your favorite apple cider/juice
2lbs Dextrose
1pkg Cider House Select yeast
3oz Centennial Hops (2 week dry hop)

OG:1.060
FG: .998
ABV: 8%ish

This is my first time using this type of yeast, I generally use S04. This is also the first time I've tried dry hopping a cider. Thoughts?

I like the sound of it. I was thinking of doing something similar after I tried Woodchucks hopped cider. Personally, I dont want to dry it out so I was thinking of going with an ale yeast instead of a champagne yeast. Then again, Im looking to do two kinds of cider. #1 is to let it dry with a champagne yeast and see how the cascades come out, #2 is to use an ale yeast and add apple pie spice to it, thats for a different day. Have you had any experience with ale yeast in a cider? I havent but I'm looking to try it. Let me know how it turns out Im interested.

Use 1/2 oz for 3 days. Taste it. then go from there.
Overdoing the dry hops could result in something that you don't care for, so take it slow and experiment instead of going all in.