Help with Recipe Suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CoreyG

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I'm new to brewing, just finished a 2nd batch of beer. Neither of the batches have been very good, weird aftertastes and things like that. I was hoping someone could help suggest a recipe for me, something not too complicated but with a good taste. I like brown ales and tripels and Belgian style beers so if anyone has a good recipe like that it would be awesome.

I've been doing partial batches I guess.... steeping specialty grains and using malt extract. I would like to stay with that level of brewing since I think all grain is too much right now.

So that you guys know what I've been up to, the last batch was the following:

500g special B, 500 g pilsmat --- steeped for 1 hour in 5L of water, the n sparged with 5L of water.

3.1kg of LME ( 2kg of which was added at the beginning of boil, 1 kg at end)
30g kent hops at 60 for bittering
30g kent hops at 15 for aroma
500g of brown sugar mixed in at the end of the boil with the last kg of LME

1 packet of safale S04, rehydrated and pitched.

I have no idea if this recipe is any good, I got it from a home brew shop near where I live.

Any help?
Thanks in advance!

"Weird" flavors are hard to diagnose, but two things come right away to my mind. One is water. If you have chlorine or chloramines in your water, the beer can taste medicinal, or even like band-aids. Another is fermentation temperature- temperatures over 68 degrees ( 20C) can make a beer taste odd- sometimes esters, sometimes other weird tastes. If the room is warm, the fermenting beer inside is even warmer.

I'm not a fan of sugar in the wort- it ferments out, but sometimes can cause some strange flavors also.