Bought a Wyeast propagator instead of an activator.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

foxual

Reaction score
I'm completely new to homebrewing. I ordered all my supplies and a Fuggles IPA extract kit from Midwest Supplies and everything got here Saturday afternoon. I unpacked and got the yeast right in the fridge and was super excited, until...

I realized I did just enough research to screw it up. I went with liquid yeast but bought a propagator instead of an activator. I have no plans to make a starter, as I don't have the equipment, DME, or confidence yet. So as I see it, I have three options. Help me select which is the best one!

1. pitch the propagator
  2. go to the local local homebrew store and buy an activator, and waste the propagator
  3. buy another propagator and pitch the two propagators instead of an activator (is this possible/ok to do?)

Which would you do? And as an aside, noob question:

Do you refrigerate the yeast once you smack the pack? Or do you let it work at room temperature (I plan on getting them going tomorrow for a Wednesday brew).

Any help is much appreciated!

If making a starter is totally out of the question, I would go with option 3. An activator by itself isn't nearly enough viable yeast to properly finish fermentation. You might get lucky with it on a small enough beer, but I wouldn't risk off flavors and/or stuck fermentation. With two packs, you should be good.

No, you don't need to refrigerate the smack pack. Let it warm to room temperature, smack it, and leave it alone for a while.

Good luck come brew day! :mug: