Extract Brewer heading towards All Grain - What Brew Pot?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TopherM

Reaction score
I started brewing in November and have 7 extract kits under my belt with great results. I'd like to move towards all grain brewing, and am about to invest in a good brew pot. I am going to stick to 5 gallon batches, but will probably try some full-boil extracts in the meantime. What sized brew pot should I get?

From everything I've read, I thought I'd go with this 10 gallon pot:

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/product_info.php?cPath=178_33_463&products_id=12892

Am I on the right track? Any other suggestions? I'd like this to be the last brew pot I buy, so I'm open to suggestions on something better, like maybe the Blichmann?

http://www.austinhomebrew.com/product_info.php?cPath=178_33_463&products_id=11290

I plan on starting here, then getting the mash tun and HLT as soon as I can afford it, with the idea of working towards a gravity stand system. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

It seems one can never have a big enough brew kettle.

I get by with a 6.5 gal pot (all-grain), but it's not fun. I've since ordered an 8-gal aluminum and will use it as soon as it arrives.

I'd say go as big as you can, in case you want to start making 10-gal batches in the future. It seems many folks start doing that once they've been brewing for a while, for whatever reason.

When I started all-grain, I bought a 36Qt Bayou Classic kettle. That lasted me about three brews before I decided I wanted to go bigger and go 8 gallon batches. Sold the kettle and then took time off while I saved up the money to buy a 15.5 gallon keggle.

Go big or go home.