Visible bubbles for only 1 day?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meatman

Reaction score
I am a newbie here....first post of many.

My first batch was an extract recipe for Fuller's ESB. It bubbled for about 2 - 3 days in my primary. It turned out great and I am pleased with the brew for my first batch.

My 2nd batch is an extract recipe for Paulaner Oktoberfest. It bubbled vigoursly starting probably after about 3 hours, but only bubbled for a day. Should I be concerned that it only visbily bubbled for one day? It has been in the primary about 5 days now.

Thanks,

meatman

Fermenting around 69 - 70F. Using an Ale Yeast that the guy at the brew shop told me should work fine.

Bubbling isn't a very reliable indicator of fermentation, so don't worry about it. I'd wait a couple of more days and check the sg. It should be ok.

The only reliable way to gauge fermentation is do use your hydrometer. But no reason to check it now- might as well wait a few more days.

Edit- And welcome to HBT!

Okay.. Thanks for the feedback. I think I need a testing tube for the hydrometer. I was not able to get a very accurate reading due to bubbles on the surface in my fermenter. I think it was about 1.1, but I read that it should be around 1.035 to 1.050 so maybe I was just misreading it.

meatman