Cooling wort w/o a plate heat exchanger

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petep1980

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am doing my first AG next weekend, which also means my 1st boil over 3 gallons. How much of a pain in the neck is it going to be cooling wort to a pitchable temp in a cold bathtub? Meaning, where can I expect the royal pain in the neck to be?

it could take a WHILE. Get that tub filled with Ice. Leave the wort in the kettle while your cooling it, dont transfer it to your carboy or bucket, wait till its cooled. Plan on constant stirring and a few ice switch outs for atleast and hour

How quickly does one of those heat exchangers work?

-It's funny for a living I work as a manufacturer's rep for tons of HEX manufacturers.

Plate heat exchangers are incredibly efficient. It would be hard to say how fast you could cool the wort without knowing the specs of the model you are using.

In most applications, they are designed to work with a pump, again you need the specs of the specific unit. Also, it is likely that you would also need to run the wort through a filter before the plate-x. The clearence inside is quite small.

Do you have a specific model in mind?

I've never used a plate, but immersion chillers are nice. I got 5 gallons of boiling wort to 70F in 13 minutes (new record) with my immersion chiller in combination with a tub (like what you would put the keg in at a kegger) full of ice.