Any chance five gallons will boil on apt electric stove?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blokeyhighlander

Reaction score
..using a 40-quart pot like this one: http://www.instawares.com/stock-pot-aluminum-40.alsksp007.0.7.htm

I'm brand new to this and want the 40-quart to avoid boil overs but I'm not sure if the pot itself will be too big.

Advice is greatly appreciated - I'll be doing extract brews to start.

I know this kind of thing has been commented on frequently so my apologies for the repeat.

I use a 32 quart, 4mm thick aluminum pot and getting ~6.5 gallons up to a boil takes a LOOOOOONG time... Maintaining the boils is also not that easy. I'm talking about it taking at least an hour to get up to a boil (from mash/sparge mixed temps)...

I'll be doing the same thing on Thursday evening on a propane burner... I'll post up how long it takes there... I'm estimating ~15 minutes, maybe...

Unless you have one burner that throws a LOT of heat, I'd seriously think about getting a propane burner.

Split that boil!!!

I am in a one bedroom apartment and split boils are the sweet sweet answer. I only have one large burner on my stove, which I stuff aluminum foil underneath to increase the heat output. I insulate my 3 gallon pot with foil also and then have no trouble getting a nice rolling boil with 2.5 gallons - I do not even have to crank the burner all the way up. I boil another 1.5 gallons in a separate 2 gallon pot. This is only a 4 gallon boil but I am sure if I felt like investing in another 3 gallon pot I could easily do full 5 gallon boils.