Off Odor and Very Cloudy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

permo

Reaction score
I just brewed a bitter, I keep getting a waft of a sour, almost malt vinegar aroma from keg when I vent the CO2. The beer is also super cloudy. The funny thing is that this beer tastes just fine.....obviously it is infected.....or is it?

I have never used the Halycon malt before, maybe that is the culprit...I don't know. I have a tasty, but cloudy bitter. I am hoping the cloudiness goes away, but from what I can tell it isn' chill haze. I warmed it up and it is still cloudy in a glass.

Funny thing though. I used this yeast cake for an india brown ale. I guess the high ABV and IBU killed whatever bug, if it was a bug, off..because it is not present in the IBA> Wierd.

UPDATE: I just did a little research and found this to be common with the TF Halycon malt, I guess they have poor quality control. NOTE TO SELF, use Marris Otter for my next bitter.

http://www.howtobrew.com/section4/chapter21-1.html

Cause 1: Bacteria In this case, it probably is. Aceto bacteria (vinegar producing) and Lacto bacteria (lactic acid producing) are common contaminates in breweries. Sometimes the infection will produce sweet smells like malt vinegar, other times they will produce cidery smells. It will depend on which bug is living in your wort. Aceto bacteria often produce ropy strands of jelly which can be a good visual indicator, as can excessive cloudiness, after several weeks in the fermentor (although some cloudiness is not unusual, especially in all-grain beers).
Cure: If you don't like the taste, then pour it out. Lactic infections are desired in some beer styles.