hello. first post. COMPLETE noob here :)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chainsawbrewing

Reaction score
I just recently became interested in home brewing. I searched Google for various "kits" to get me started in this hobby, and found many options from many different companies, and it made me wonder which kit was the "best", and if i even needed to buy a "kit" at all. I remember seeing my father brewing home made wine when i was a kid using a big glass bottle, and a ballon, or a sandwich baggy with a rubber band on it on the top of the bottle. I'm sure brewing beer is different than my dads old ways, but as the title of the thread says, i'm completely new to this game, but hope someone can steer me in the right direction, and i can have a long life of brewing, and bottling my own beer. I haven't even figured out what all i need to get, and i'm already estatic! Thanks in advance for any help/advice you may offer.

:mug:

Welcome to the forum. Lots of good people here with lots of knowledge. Here's my advice... Give this How To Brew by Palmer a thorough read through a few times and you will gain a lot of knowledge yourself really quick. Dont be a stranger!

Midwest has nice kits in all price ranges. If you have nothing yet, a kit is going to save you some money.

Also, read Palmer's online book about the process. The online version is free, but the updated paper copy is nice to have