First Recipe for a Pale Ale - Is it ok?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bill_skar

Reaction score
So this will be my third batch and I am going to try to make my own recipe. This is kind of a spin from Palmer's Cincy Pale in in the "How to Brew" Book with a few changes. Tell me what you guys think.

1 lb - Steeped UK Pale Grains
4 lbs Pale Malt Extract -LME
2 lbs Plain Amber DME
1 oz Citra Hops - 45
.5 oz Centennial hops - 15 min
.5 oz Centennial hops - 5 min
1 Packet of Dry Ale Yeast

PS: I am still learning in terms of the science of everything, so there is really very little method to my madness here. Any suggestions/thoughts on making this better, or does it sound ok. Thanks for the help!

On further thought, I will probably get an active yeast and another oz of hops. Any other additions needed?

That's gonna be just slightly higher in IBUs than the BJCP guidelines for American Pale Ale, but I wouldn't give that much of a second thought if I were you.

I don't think your steeping grains are going to do much for you. If it were my recipe, I'd switch the extracts for extra light (or the lightest I could find) and use a bit of crystal 20 or 30 or 40 for steeping.

Edit: +1 on the dry hop addition, and Amarillo. Amarillo's always great!

Here's the recipe in BeerSmith:

pale
American Pale Ale

Type: Extract
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 5.72 gal
Boil Time: 60 min

Ingredients

Amount Item Type % or IBU
2.00 lb Amber Dry Extract (12.5 SRM) Dry Extract 28.57 %
4.00 lb Pale Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM) Extract 57.14 %
1.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (3.0 SRM) Grain 14.29 %
1.00 oz Citra [11.00 %] (45 min) Hops 44.2 IBU
0.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] (15 min) Hops 6.0 IBU
0.50 oz Centennial [10.00 %] (5 min) Hops 3.7 IBU