halving a recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

littlebu

Reaction score
I found a recipe I would like to try, but only want to make a half batch. Obviousely I just cut everything in half, but what about boil time? I haven't been able to find anything about that. Instead of steeping grains for 1hr do I do it for 30 min etc. Same with hops do I halve the addition schedule as well? I know I'm a complete clueless newb.

Generally, halving the recipe is just the amounts (except for yeast). To make sure, though, you may want to post the recipe here and we can take a look and see if it should just be halved.

Times and temps stay the same. The ingredients won't release their yumminess any sooner if they are fewer. Something about science...

cheers

Generally, halving the recipe is just the amounts (except for yeast). To make sure, though, you may want to post the recipe here and we can take a look and see if it should just be halved.
Here's the recipe courtesy of Blacklab in the American ale section
Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: Safale-04
Yeast Starter: no way
Additional Yeast or Yeast Starter: nyet
Batch Size (Gallons): 5.5
Original Gravity: 1.054
Final Gravity: 1.013
IBU: 34
Boiling Time (Minutes): 60
Color: 9.0L
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 10 @ 60-ish
Additional Fermentation: n/a
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14 @ 60-ish
Tasting Notes: Orange/coriander low in the profile, compliment fruitiness from Cascades.

Cascades Orange/Coriander Pale Ale
10-A American Pale Ale

Size: 5.5 gal
Efficiency: 68.0%
Attenuation: 75.0%
Calories: 178.22 per 12.0 fl oz

Original Gravity: 1.054 (1.045 - 1.060)
|=================#==============|
Terminal Gravity: 1.013 (1.010 - 1.015)
|==================#=============|
Color: 6.0 (5.0 - 14.0)