2 free kegs!! What to do

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MDB

Reaction score
I am migrating to all grain and started looking into equipment and wow what luck, 2 free kegs in the course of a week!!

I know I will take one and make into a boil pot, cut top off, have a drain valve welded to bottom and done?

What should I do with the second? Am I better off using a cooler for a mash tun, or is the keg a better option? I'm fine buying a cooler. Generally want to try and keep the process as simple as possible as I am just getting into all grain and I'm a bit intimidated....

Thanks

Do the same as with your brew kettle, except add a sight glass and thermometer and use it as you HLT.

Don't be intimidated by all grain. Just keep your recipes simple at first to get the hang of it. There's a lot of eqpt to get, but that was the hardest thing for me.

Is it better to mash in a keg than a cooler? My partials I do now I really like the cooler, I hit temp close it and forget about it, if I mash in the keg I have to keep temp with a burner, right? Not sure I want to do that but if you experts think its better I'll learn

Mash in a cooler, 10 gallon round Rubbermaid or Igloo work great, the cubes and rectangles also work. HLT -- Hot Liqueur Tank or a water heating vessel to heat strike water for the mash and to heat sparge water for sparging.. I use one and makes it easy to heat the sparge water while the mash is going.

Mash in a cooler, 10 gallon round Rubbermaid or Igloo work great, the cubes and rectangles also work. HLT -- Hot Liqueur Tank or a water heating vessel to heat strike water for the mash and to heat sparge water for sparging.. I use one and makes it easy to heat the sparge water while the mash is going.