Please Help!! Very Worried!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pivot

Reaction score
Hi. ok i started my first batch of beer a few months ago, and it came out undrinkable. completely horrible, but I knew it was only my first time and i shouldnt be discouraged. the beer was an amber ale. it seemed to carb up fine, and was the right colour, but smelled and tasted like crap. not even like beer. i used a beer making kit from my LHBS. i think what went wrong was that i didnt clean the equipment well enough. I was a newbie and the guy at the store neglected to tell me how important cleaning using sanitizer really is, and didnt sell me any

So a few days ago I started my second batch. Its an Irish Stout. I went to greater lengths to clean all the equipment this time using boiling water and sanitizer, but i am a little worried. it is day 3 of the fermentation, i went to do a gravity reading, and the stuff smelled absolutely horrible. is this normal for an early stage of stout? did i do something wrong again? if it helps at all the starting gravity was 1.030 and the last time i checked it was 1.013. i dont really even know what these mean yet so some light on that would be much appreciated too. THANK YOUUU

i dont know, its a Muntons irish stout beer kit. the smell just smells like unpleasent, its hard to describe, but i definitely did not want to drink the hydrometer sample. i think i fu%$ed up the origional gravity being 1.030 because the first gravity test I took was the day after I started the brew, I guess i just forgot at the beginning. i dont even know what the gravity means.

is there already something wrong with my poor stout......:(