Don't cut corners...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hmmmbeer

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about 2 years now and never worried about a yeast nutrient and always just did a raisen boil "yeast nutrient" for the higher alc./wines. It has always worked fine for me but a couple nights ago I brewed a batch of Rogue Brewery Hazelnut Brown Nectar (SG-1.063) used a dry yeast (part of my experiement), activated the dry yeast with a bit of DME and yeast nutrient(just a dusting at this point) just before I started brewing, and pitched the yeast and yeast nutrient and 6 hours later the brew was already starting a bit and by the time I came home for lunch (12 hours after pitching yeast) I had to switch from my airlock to a blow-off hose! My carboy has a lot of head space too. Here it is about 48 hours later and I've had to switch to a larger cup, clean the hose, dump the cup of water/carmel looking milk a few times and it is still going at a bubble a millisecond! I will never brew without yeast nutrient again! Can't wait to see what it will do with a liquid yeast and a high SG!!! Moral of the story, if you see a trick, try it, it is usually worth it!

Every since I have started using yeast nutrient and making starters (about 8 batches) I have had to use a blowoff tube every time. I just consider it the norm now.

Every since I have started using yeast nutrient and making starters (about 8 batches) I have had to use a blowoff tube every time. I just consider it the norm now.

Thank you, I'll keep that in mind. I even took the bung off and took some cake off as far as I could scoop off the top and it still is almost more then the blowoff tube can take... I'm just so happy I tried it, no looking back now