English Mild advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffStewart

Reaction score
I'm new to home brewing, and after a successful kit batch I'd like to start creating my own recipes. I came up with the following after some research for an English Dark Mild and I'm open for suggestions and critiques. I tried cross referencing other recipes, the Designing Great Beers book and brewing classic styles. Anyways, the recipe:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 2.71 gal
Estimated OG: 1.036 SG
Estimated Color: 22.5 SRM
Estimated IBU: 18.3 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: - %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
4.00 lb Pale Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM)
1.00 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (80.0 SRM)
0.50 lb Pale Chocolate Malt (180.0 SRM)
1.00 oz Fuggles [4.50%] (60 min)
1.00 oz Fuggles [4.50%] (10 min)
0.75 lb Molasses (80.0 SRM)
1 Pkgs London Ale (White Labs #WLP013)

----------------
Jeff

Your gravity and hop schedule look good, but you might want to tweak your fermentables a little.
Daniels (Designing Great Beers) recommends the following for dark milds:
10-15% crystal - you have 16%
2-3% chocolate (or 1% black) - you have 8%, but it's pale chocolate.
~11% sugar (molasses) - you have 12%
So your recipe isn't far off from Daniels' targets, so you might just want to go with it as it is.